Missoula County “Requests Occupy Missoula Relocate Their Camp” by Dec. 12

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
200 WEST BROADWAY ST.
MISSOULA, MT 59802-4292
PHONE: (406) 258-4877
FAX: (406) 721-4043

Occupy Missoula Participants:

Missoula County Commissioners and staff continue to monitor the presence of Occupy Missoula on the Courthouse lawn. Missoula County strongly supports the right of any group to peaceably assemble and articulate grievances. The County respects the resourcefulness of the Occupy Missoula group and is grateful for what has been a peaceful and relatively respectful relationship to date despite frustration experienced by each entity.

Missoula County has fielded dozens of calls and emails from County citizens complaining about the presence of Occupy Missoula on the Courthouse lawn. Missoula County staff has spent countless hours developing and maintaining relationships with numerous individuals associated with the Occupy Missoula movement. Staff has seen a significant increase in incidences of unsanitary conduct requiring even more staff time to mitigate the problem and causing increased exposure of County staff to pathogens. The nature and source of the unsanitary conduct, whether from Occupy Missoula or the adjacent population of homeless individuals, is immaterial. Regardless of who the culprits are, the situation is untenable and frankly, well above and beyond what the County should be asking of its staff on a frequency such as this.

Missoula County has been patient with Occupy Missoula, but the movement’s presence on the Courthouse lawn is creating more problems than the County has the staff or money to solve. Missoula County would like to request that Occupy Missoula relocate their camp or use the gazebo without tents during the day. Commissioners and staff are concerned that this request will cause Occupy Missoula to believe the County is trying to undermine their movement. That is not the case. The County must manage its grounds and staff in a way that is responsible to tax payers and residents. This movement appears to be long-term and focuses on issues that are beyond the ability of Missoula County to resolve. Missoula County must emphasize that the current situation inappropriately requires taxpayers to subsidize Occupy Missoula’s camp. Missoula County respectfully requests that Occupy Missoula re-shape the physical presence of its movement in order to address these issues.

Please advise Missoula County of Occupy Missoula’s intentions by Monday, December 12th, 2011. We look forward to hearing from you.

Respectfully,
Missoula Board of County Commissioners

Letter from County to Occupy Missoula: occupystmt.doc

————-
i’ve setup a discussion thread on our forum.

Here is a list of email addresses that the County sent their “Press Release” to:

From: bcc bcc bcc@co.missoula.mt.us
Date: Thu, Dec 8, 2011 at 11:04 AM
Subject: Missoula County Commissioner’s Letter
To: occupymissoula@gmail.com
Cc:
Peter Christian peterc@centric.net,
Brian Lee brianlee@cherrycreekradio.com,
GMerriam@ci.missoula.mt.us,
MCoyle@ci.missoula.mt.us,
John Murray john@clarkforkchronicle.com,
Andrew Czorny Aczorny@co.missoula.mt.us,
Anne Hughes ahughes@co.missoula.mt.us,
Dale Bickell dbickell@co.missoula.mt.us,
Joanna Cameron jcameron@co.missoula.mt.us,
Jennifer Thompson jthompson@co.missoula.mt.us,
Larry Farnes lfarnes@co.missoula.mt.us,
Laurie Hire lhire@co.missoula.mt.us,
Patty Rector prector@co.missoula.mt.us,
Rob McDonald robertmc@cskt.org,
Kaylene Nelson kaylenenelson@gapbroadcasting.com,
Pete Deneault petedeneault@gapbroadcasting.com,
Lesley Lotto lesleylotto@gmail.com,
markhebert42@gmail.com,
KUFM News mtpruca@gmail.com,
KBGA Director news@kbga.org,
news@keci.com,
Steve Fetveit sfetveit@keci.com,
info@kmso.com,
Breanna Roy breanna@kpax.com,
Dennis KPAX Dennis@kpax.com,
Irina Cates irina@kpax.com,
KPAX News Director news@kpax.com,
craig@kyssfm.com,
Jim McGowan Jim.mcgowan@lee.net,
Joel Baird jbaird@mcat.org,
Indy Calendar calendar@missoulanews.com,
Independent News Desk sbrowning@missoulanews.com,
Betsy Cohen bcohen@missoulian.com,
Chelsi Moy Chelsi.Moy@missoulian.com,
Gwen Florio gwen.florio@missoulian.com,
Jenna Cederberg jenna.cederberg@missoulian.com,
Kim Briggeman kbriggeman@missoulian.com,
Keila Szpaller keila.szpaller@missoulian.com,
Michael Moore mmoore@missoulian.com,
Missoulian News Desk newsdesk@missoulian.com,
Sherry Devlin sdevlin@missoulian.com,
Tristan Scott tscott@missoulian.com,
Montana Kaimin editor@montanakaimin.com,
Shelly shelly@montanaradio.com,
Montana Radio staff@montanaradio.com,
ASUM asum.vicepres@mso.umt.edu,
Nancy Wilson nancy.wilson@mso.umt.edu,
Kim Murray news@mtnbdc.com,
Sheila Callahan sc@mtnbdc.com,
Jonathan Weber jonathan@newwest.net,
Seeley Swan Pathfinder pathfinder@seeleylake.com,
KGVO Room kgvonewsroom@townsquaremedia.com,
Edward O’Brien edward.obrien@umontana.edu,
Sally Mauk sally.mauk@umontana.edu,
Susan Jamerson susan.jamerson@umontana.edu,
Bruce Burk lolopeaknews1@yahoo.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s